The Eyes of Discontent

The Eyes of Discontent

I close my eyes and I use to see color, all beautiful, wild and full of wonder

Now all I see is black as pitch, like I have fallen into a long dark ditch

I try to look for the light of day, but all I see are shades of grey

I stumble along in the dark and decay

Knowing that this is so far from okay

I make my way to the top

Not forgetting what was long forgot

When I open my eyes and reach my goal

I come to find out I was in my own soul…

 

Kariann Alcala, 2010

Leave a Reply

