Rain

Rain

As I look out onto the rain , I can’t help but complain

That the smell permeates in my veins and the sounds causes nothing but pain

I think of the days lying next to you, when everything was clear and true

To feel your touch on the small of my back, to feel the love that now has turned black

The rain brings all these thoughts into my mind

the ones that get lost in our endless time

I think of these thoughts and cry because what we had inevitable died

So when it rains I think of you and I, and wonder why our love could not survive

So as I look out onto the rain I can’t help but still complain

That the smell permeates in my veins and the sound causes nothing but pain

Kariann Alcala, 2009

Leave a Reply

